National Association of Women in Construction

Enhancing the Success of Women in Construction

 

 
Julia Campbell

DIRECTOR 2007-2009

REGION 7 THE HEART OF NAWIC

4224 Arrowwood Drive

Fort Worth, TX 76115

817-821-9600 cell

julia.nolan@yahoo.com

 

news from around the region

JULY, 2008 SPREAD YOUR WINGS & FLY!


 


 

from your Director

I realize this newsletter is a later than usual this month, but I wanted to share the wonderful news we now have a new chapter! Port Arthur-Golden Triangle Chapter #377 was chartered on July 17, 2008. Welcome to the wonderful world of NAWIC, ladies!

 

Region 7 has the honor of being where this wonderful association began in 1953 with a group of ladies in Fort Worth working in the construction industry who wanted to get to know one another better. When they got together, Women In Construction of Fort Worth, Texas was born. Their enthusiasm and dedication was so great that in 1955 we became the National Association of Women In Construction and the rest, as they say, is history. One of our Founders, Alice Ashley, penned the NAWIC pledge and her words are as true today as they were 55 years ago:

As material for the construction of our building, I pledge

The agility of my hands,

The ability of my mind,

And the integrity of my heart.

 

Julia Campbell

 

DATES TO REMEMBER:

July

  07 - Convention Registration postmark deadline

  14 - Chapter Credential certifications due in NAWIC Office

  15 Deadline to submit new Chapter Officers to NAWIC Office

  17 Chartering and Installation of Officers and Directors of the Port Arthur-Golden Triangle Chapter #377 of NAWIC

  30 Chapter Presidents Annual Report due to Director for Pre-Con Board report

August

  01 - Deadline to make Convention room reservations at NAWIC rate of $119.00/day (plus taxes)

  14 Dues renewals distributed by NAWIC Office

  16 - Region 7 Leadership Training for incoming Chapter Officers, Directors, and Committee chairs Austin

September

  03 -06 NAWIC Annual Convention, Las Vegas

  11 - NAWIC Founders Day

October

  01 Dues Renewals due in NAWIC Office; renewals received after this date will incur a $25 late fee

 

November

  08 APC , Fort Worth Sheraton Hotel downtown

April 24 25, 2009

  Region 7 Annual Forum, Tulsa

ALWAYS

  Be courteous and mindful of commitments

 

REGION 7 CHAPTER PRESIDENTS:

Austin #7 Luci Roberts, CCA, CIT

lucir@whiteconst.com

Corpus Christi #4 Barbara Taylor

barbara@barcom.cc

Dallas #3 Rebecca Hicks

rebeccah@bellnunnally.com

Fort Worth #1 Cristy Treder

ctreder@tsbyrne.com

Houston #3 Sandy Field

sfield@cadencemcshane.com

Port Arthur-Golden Triangle #377

Betty Keith

bskeith@bechtel.com

San Antonio #11 Kim Miller

kim@bxtx.com

Tulsa #76 Judy Chrisman

judy.chrisman@oldcastlematerials.com

Waco #14 Ginger Ritchison

ginger@centexagc.org

 

REGION 7 LEADERS:

Committees:

Construction Industry

Sandy Field, Houston Chapter #3

sfield@cadencemchane.com

Membership

Robynn Lehr, Fort Worth Chapter #1

rlehr@tsbyrne.com

PR/Marketing

Becky Wynne, San Antonio Chapter #11

wynnewhite@aol.com

Professional Education

Emilie Hins, Tulsa Chapter #76

hinshouse@sstelco.com

Safety & Health

Jennifer Swinney, San Antonio Chapter #11

jswinney@esc-safety.com

Strategic Planning

Gracie Narey, Fort Worth Chapter #1

gnarey@lantanacom.com

WIC Week

Gracie Narey, Fort Worth Chapter #1

gnarey@lantanacom.com

 

NEF Representatives:

 

CAD/Drafting

Carolyn Brice, Dallas Chapter #2

cbrice@brandteng.com

Block Kids

Tracey Hart, Fort Worth Chapter #1

thart@tsbyrne.com

Fundraiser

Martha Simpson, San Antonio Chapter #11

mcsnawic@yahoo.com

Liaison

Karolene Pittman, Fort Worth Chapter #1

kpittman@tsbyrne.com

 

Region 7 Fund Committee:

Judy DeWeese, San Antonio Chapter #11

judenawic@aol.com

Ginger Ritchison, Waco Chapter #14

ginger@centexagc.org

Vickie Thompson, Corpus Christi Chapter #4

texwicvic@juno.com

 

WELCOME NEW MEMBERS:

 

Austin Chapter #07

Marili Alvarez

Austin Commercial, LLP

maalvarez@austin-ind.com

Laura Backer

Flintco, Inc.

rbacker@flintco.com

Dallas Chapter #02

Terri Covert

TDIndustries

Terri.covert@tdindustries.com

Suzzone Cross

Sinacola Commercial, Ltd.

scross@sinacolacommercial.com

Houston Chapter #03

Anita Garibovic

NT Construction, LLC

anita@newtimesconstruction.com

Catherine Garcia

Fluor Corporation

Catherine.garcia@fluor.com

Nancy Rodriguez

Smith Commercial Contracting

nrodriguez@smithc.com

Port Arthur-Golden Triangle Chapter #377

Felicia Alexander

Becon Construction

Karlbranch926@yahoo.com

Patt Barrington

GPPL

pattusa@gmail.com

Esther Benoit

Advanced Assets Developments, LLC

Advanced_assets@yahoo.com

Kimberly Bernard

ABC Southeast TX

kbernard@abcsetx.org

Penny Blackburn

quilonjim@yahoo.com

Carol Blissing

Bechtel

ceblissi@bechtel.com

Venetia Bossett

bsalems@aol.com

Darlene Boullion

Bechtel/Becon

dboullion@bechtel.com

Felicia Brodnax

Becon Construction

fkbroadn@bechtel.com

Elizabeth Cravens

Mid-America Contractors

Elizabeth@midamericacontractors.com

Nancy Currie

JETS Fire & Safety, Inc.

Jrc2230@yahoo.com

Shea Daugherty

Bechtel Corp.

sdaughe@bechtel.com

Jody Davis

S & B Engineers & Constructors

Davisj1@sbec.com

Jana Elliott

Advanced Safety Apparel

jana@advancedsafetyapparel.com

Christina Flores

Becon Construction Company

cflores@bechtel.com

Rhonda Glover

Fluor

Rhonda.glover@fluor.com

Lindsey Gothia

Wortech Land Surveyors, Inc.

Lindsey@wortech.com

Pamela Grotts

Bechtel Corporation

Pmgrott1@bechtel.com

Beverly Hatcher

Hatcher.beverly@gtmbc.com

Holly Hinds

Hinds Fence

holly@gt.rr.com

Kim James

Becon Construction Company, Inc.

kajames@bechtel.com

Amy Johnson

A-1 American Fence, Inc.

ajohnson@a1americanfenceco.com

Sjonneke Jones

Bechtel Corporation

Smjones_626@msn.com

Cheryl Keddy

Newtron

ckeddy@ntned.com

Betty Keith

Bechtel Corp.

bskeith@bechtel.com

Lorinda Kirk

Becon Construction

lkirk@bechtel.com

Deedi Landry

Becon Construction

Dlandry@bechtel.com

Wendy Lemmel

Bechtel Corporation

wjlemmel@bechtel.com

Sheila Lindsey

RECON

Sheila.lindsey@reconservices.com

Brenda Ogburn

Bechtel/Becon

bgogburn@bechtel.com

Patti Robertson

Tetralene, Inc.

Pattir1010@aol.com

Elisa Rocha

Becon Construction

earocha@bechtel.com

Angelina Romero-Hinds

A-1 American Fence, Inc.

info@a1americanfenceco.com

Alexi Rothschild

Bechtel

akrothsc@bechtel.com

Rhonda Schmidtke

Hinds Quality Fences, Inc.

Rhonda@hindsfence.com

Judith Scott

Bechtel

jdscott@bechtel.com

Carolina Shea

ladysshea@aol.com

Barbara Smithy

Motion Expansion Project

bsmithy@sbcglobal.net

Christene Sonnier

Coastal Industrial Services

coastaltxs@aol.com

Penny Trahan

Bechtel/Becon

ptrahan@bechtel.com

Pamela Washington

Jacobs Engineering

pwashing@bechtel.com

Cathy Wheeler

Becon Construction

cwheeler@bechtel.com

Kay White

A & L Embroidery

Al.customs@yahoo.com

San Antonio Chapter #11

Tricia Navarro

W.G. Yates & Sons Construction Co.

tnavarro@wgyates.com

Debra Ruiz

Wells Fargo Bank

Debra.a.ruiz@wellsfargo.com

Tulsa Chapter #76

Stephanie Butler

Traffic & Lighting Systems

larrysdnik@sbcglobal.net

Member-At-Large

Lindsey Eickman

Garland, Texas

eickmalc@tribe.ulm.edu

Tepher Ward

San Antonio, Texas

Tepher2@yahoo.com

 

We welcome each of you to NAWIC and hope you take advantage of the many benefits available to our members. Please feel free to contact any member should you have questions or comments.

 

AROUND THE REGION:

Austin #7 Luci Roberts

  Ongoing recognition in local trade publications.

  Hostess chapter for Leadership Training Conference on August 16.

  Hosts a Meet & Greet each month for new and prospective members

Corpus Christi #4 Barbara Taylor

  July guest speaker was Alex Huerta with AFLAC, presenting supplemental insurance options available to group policy participants.

  Construction Industry project was completed July 12 updated a Nurses Office at Prescott Elementary School.

  Ongoing recognition in local trade publications.

Dallas #7 Rebecca Hicks

  Will host a happy hour at Matitos on Monday, July 21 for new and prospective members.

  Third annual Texas Hold Em Poker tournament benefitting Genesis Womens Shelter will be held on Friday, August 8.

  Ongoing recognition in local trade publications

  Hostess chapter for Forum 2010

Fort Worth #1 Cristy Treder

  Construction Industry project is complete the CI committee built a playhouse for the annual CASA Parade of Playhouses raffle benefitting CASA of Tarrant County.

  Hosted dinner & a movie on June 27 for new and prospective members.

  Hosted a Just for Fun night at a Fort Worth Cats baseball game for members.

  Ongoing recognition in local trade publications.

  Hostess chapter for APC 2008.

Houston #3 Sandy Field

  Continuing support for The Bridge Over Troubled Waters, a haven for women and children in need of temporary shelter and guidance.

  Membership recruitment events.

Port Arthur-Golden Triangle #377 Betty Keith

  Getting organized.

  Ongoing recognition in local trade publications as well as radio and television spotlights.

San Antonio #11 Kim Miller

  Membership recruitment events.

  Ongoing recognition in local trade publications

 

Tulsa #76 Judy Chrisman

  Annual Chapter picnic hosted by Gene & Sherran Harris lots of food, fun & networking.

  Kasey Baumann and Sherran Harris are Forum 2009 Co-Chairmen. As always, Tulsa has very unique plans for Forum.

  Congratulations to Joani Kelly, Chapter President for 2008-2009!

Waco #14 Ginger Ritchison

  Hostess chapter for APC 2009

  Speaker for July meeting will be Emily Fau with Waco Habitat for Humanity

 

CONGRATULATIONS to all the newly-elected Chapter Officers and Directors!

 

SPECIAL RECOGNITION

Three of our members were recently recognized at the second annual HCADFW Womens Business Conference and Luna Awards Luncheon on June 24 in Dallas. Dallas chapter member Jill Melancon won the Outstanding Administrative Professional Award; Dallas Chapter President Rebecca Hicks and Fort Worth Chapter President Cristy Treder were recognized for their roles as leaders in NAWIC and as successful women in the construction industry. Congratulations to all of you!

 

LEADERSHIP TRAINING CONFERENCE:

Saturday, August 16 Austin, Texas

Leadership training is just that. This conference will focus on the duties and responsibilities of incoming chapter officers, directors, committee chairs, and those who are thinking about serving in some capacity on the chapter and regional level. Past National President Luci Roberts will present NAWIC 101, an in-depth workshop of everything you wanted to know about NAWIC. All the workshops will be presented by our members who have served as leaders in the past and present. Please make every effort to attend and bring your questions, suggestions, and experiences.

 

Laura Culin, Megan Meisner, and the Austin chapter have been working diligently to host this important event. The registration form, agenda, and information for the world famous Austin BAT tour were emailed to each chapter president to distribute to members.

 

NATIONAL NEWS:

The results are in here are your NAWIC Officers for 2008-2009:

President Pat McDonald, CCA, CIT

President-elect Robin Fulton-Meyer, CIT

Vice President Debra Gregoire, CIT

Secretary Judy DeWeese, CIT

Treasurer Cindy Johnsen, CDS, CIT

Immediate

Past President Tamie Taylor, CDS, CDT, CIT

 

The even-numbered Regions held their elections for Director-elect at their Forums. The results are as follows:

Region 02 Anne Welch, CIT

Region 04 Janet Sullivan, CCA, CIT, CDS

Region 06 Anne Houchin

Region 08 Linda Champlin-Frank

Region 10 Shawna Alvarado, CIT

Region 12 Ellen Colglazier

Region 14 Carol Henry, CCA

 

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL!

 

 

REMINDERS:

Utilize the NAWIC website at www.nawic.org there is a tremendous amount of information available to you with just a click of the mouse! Check out the following:

 

  Member information

  Chapter Officer Handbooks

  Committee Handbooks

  Convention Information

  Magic Camp

  2008 Crystal Vision Award Winner

  2008 Leadership Academy information

 

 

Caring

I would like to take a moment to remind everyone to remember our friends and loved ones who are going through difficult times, no matter what the cause. We all know someone having health issues, financial problems, or the loss of a loved one and if we take a moment to let them know we care, it makes their world a little brighter.

 

Let us never forget our brave men and women in the Armed Forces who put their lives on the line every day in order to preserve our safety and freedom. And to all our veterans, a heartfelt THANK YOU!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

until next time,

 

Best wishes and safe travels,

 

Julia