April 15, 2008

CALL TO ORDER: President, Barbara Taylor, CIT called the meeting to order at 5:58 p.m. Location of the meeting was the City Diner.  Secretary, Darlene Lee-Omana, was present.


INTRODUCTIONS:  Six members present:  two guests and one guest speaker.


BIRTHDAYS AND RAFFLE:       Birthday raffle netted $ 11.00.


PROGRAM:   Charlie Brite- “Understanding Credit”


MINUTES:    The Minutes for March, 2008 were approved as written.


CORRESPONDENCE:  Correspondence was read and none required action.




PRESIDENT:  President, Barbara Taylor CIT reported that: Corpus Christi celebrates 51st birthday this month.


VICE PRESIDENT:  Vice President, Virginia Llanas reported the next business meeting will be held May 20, 2008 at City Diner.  CAD Winners receive their awards.


TREASURER:  Treasurer, Vickie Thompson submitted Treasurer’s Reports for March, 2008.  Reports were approved and filed for audit.




Membership:  Lisa Huerta welcomed guests- Elizabeth Flores with Stallion Builders and Mona Lutz with Coastal Bend Homebuilders.  She announced a membership drive contest and a goal of 20 new members was set by the membership.  Lisa was presented the Certificate of Achievement by President Barbara Taylor CIT. 

Professional Education:  Virginia Llanas reported.

Darlene Lee Omana will try to find information on a program for Home Buyers with the City.

Block Kids: President, Barbara Taylor reported that we won 3rd place in regionals.

Publicity:  President, Barbara Taylor, CIT discussed publicity items sent in.

Recycle:  Lisa Huerta reported.  She felt that our check might be short.  Her and Vickie are going to double check.

CAD:  President, Barbara Taylor, CIT announced winners for this years competition. 

  1. Juan Gonzalez – Bruni High School
  2. Jack Lloyd-Reilley – Carroll High School
  3. Alexandra Inocenia – Bruni High School

Roster: Kim Wilburn, CCA absent.  Roster is complete and distributed.

Ways and Means:  Committee Chairman, Darlene Lee Omana, that AGC has agreed to a joint sale with us.  A date of October 11, 2008 was agreed upon.  We will also be selling Hooks ticket books again this year.  Barbara Taylor is going to get Adam’s e-mail address to Darlene.

Friendship:  Virginia Llanes reported that two birthday cards were sent.

WIC Week: Kim Keplar reported on the door and frame replacement at The Ark 

Construction Industry:  Prescott School Nurse’s Station work day scheduled for May 3, 2008 at Kim Keplar’s shop at 3049 SPID- 9:00 am.   Mona Lutz offered to donate the paint needed for our project.


Skills USA was April 4,5,6 with 5400 students present.

Nominating Committee chair, Vickie Thompson presented a slate of officers.

            President-  Darlene Lee Omana CCA, CIT, CCRRC

            Vice President- Barbara Taylor, CIT

            Treasurer-  Virginia Llanes

            Secretary- Vickie Thompson

            Board of Director- Lisa Huerta

Lisa Huerta gave Forum Report.  She also reported on the President’s meeting at Forum.

She suggested that we try to find a way to shorten our meetings.   She reported that dues must be received by October 1, 2008 or a late fee of $25.00 will be charged.  August 16, 2008 date has been set for officer training in Austin.  Tulsa will host 2009 Forum April, 24 and 25, 2009 and Dallas will host 2010 Forum.  Chapter sales at this year’s Forum netted $ 336.00.  APC will be November 7 and 8, 2008 in Ft. Worth.

Darlene Lee Omana and Kim Keplar with be interviewed on the morning show for KIII- Chanel 3 on Sunday- April 20, 2008.  Interview is scheduled for 7:50 am.

NEW BUSINESS:  President, Barbara Taylor, CIT reported:

Corpus Christi plans to nominate Alfonso Gonzalez for the Carol A. Kueker Award.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:  Valero Operations Test registration will be May 21, 2008.  Sign up for test on line as early as possible.

ADJOURNMENT:  There being no further business to come before the assembly, the meeting was adjourned at 8:40 p.m.


___________________                                  ____________________

Darlene Lee-Omana, Secretary                       Barbara Taylor, President


Members Present:                                         Guests Present:

Barbara Taylor, CIT                                        Mona Lutz

Virginia Llanas                                                Elizabeth Flores                                             

Darlene Lee Omana, CCA, CIT, CCRCC

Vickie Thompson

Lisa Huerta

Kim Keplar