August 19, 2008

CALL TO ORDER: President, Barbara Taylor, CIT called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. Location of the meeting was the City Diner.  Secretary, Darlene Lee-Omana, was present.


INTRODUCTIONS:  Five members present and four guests.


BIRTHDAYS AND RAFFLE:  Birthday raffle netted $ 16.00


PROGRAM:   Dalia Garcia- City of Corpus Christi Neighborhood Services


MINUTES:    The Minutes for July, 2008 were approved via internet.


CORRESPONDENCE:  Correspondence was read with no required action.




PRESIDENT:  President, Barbara Taylor CIT reported that:

Membership renewals are due no later than 9-30-2008.  Renewals can be done on line. 


VICE PRESIDENT:  Vice President, Virginia Llanas reported the next business meeting will be held September 16, 2008 at City Diner.  Contact her if you know of any new places to hold meetings.  Program will be Annual Meeting reports and Installation of Officers.  Barbara Taylor will get Darlene the installation program book.


TREASURER:  Treasurer, Vickie Thompson tabled July report until September.



Membership:  President Barbara Taylor welcomed new member Monica Sanderson with Conreco.  She will be sending in her membership application.

Professional Education:  Incoming Vice President Barbara Taylor CIT passed out a Program Suggestion form and asked members to give her ideas on interesting programs for next year.

Publicity:  President, Barbara Taylor, CIT discussed publicity items sent in.  Guest Bria Whitmire will get information to Barbara on ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) that she will submit for their newsletter.

Recycle:  Darlene Lee Omana CCA, CIT reported income of $ 11.25.

CAD:  Barbara Taylor CIT reported that the new specifications for this year’s competition are in.  The high school kids will draw plans for a Green Building, Vacation home on a Lake.  Entry deadline is December 5, 2008.  Plans must be turned in by March 6, 2009.  Entries will be turned over to the judges on March 9, 2009.  Awards will be given on April 21, 2009.  If you know anyone that is familiar with CAD, please get with Barbara so we can get our judges lined up.

Ways and Means:  Committee Chairman, Darlene Lee Omana, reports that the response letter for The Texas Lottery Commission had been completed and mailed on August 15, 2008.  Although we never received the copy of the letter from the Open Records request in the mail, Austin faxed it to us for our Board Meeting.  AGC/NAWIC sale will be October 11, 2008.  Gail Hoffman is retiring and Darlene will get with new director as soon as possible.  Hooks ticket books or money needs to be turned in. 

Friendship:  Happy Birthday Barbara and Lisa.

Website: Vickie Thompson heard from a member of the Port Arthur Chapter that wants to post her resume on our website.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS:  Prescott School Nurse’s Station is complete.  Barbara will try to get a picture of it for us with the new furniture in place.

Communities in Schools would like our help to organize bids and remodeling contractors for their building. 

NEW BUSINESS:  Vickie Thompson attended the Region 7 Leadership Training Workshop in Austin on August 16, 2008.  She passed out information to new officers and reported on the meeting.  She informed Barbara Taylor that The Image would like a write up on our CAD second place winner, Jack Lloyd-Reilley.  He will be attending college on an architectural scholarship.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:  Virginia Llanes is going to Hawaii!  Barbara Taylor told us about her exciting vacation to Wyoming.  Darlene, Kim and Cathy will be attending Annual Conference in Las Vegas in September.

ADJOURNMENT:  There being no further business to come before the assembly, the meeting was adjourned at 7:45 p.m.


___________________                                  ____________________

Darlene Lee-Omana, Secretary                       Barbara Taylor, President

Members Present:                                         Guests Present:

Barbara Taylor, CIT                                        Monica Sanderson

Virginia Llanas                                                Laura Hernandez Chapman   

Darlene Lee Omana, CCA, CIT, CCRCC     Bria Whitemire           

Vickie Thompson                                            Dalia Garcia                           

Cathy Beaudin, CCA, CIT