National Association of Women in Construction

Corpus Christi Chapter #4

Business Meeting

September 19, 2006



The regular business meeting of NAWIC Chapter #4 was held on September 19, 2006 at the City Diner in Corpus Christi, TX.   President Vickie Thompson called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m. with 4 members and 3 guests present.


The minutes from the June 2006 meeting were approved as printed.


Guest Speaker Myra K Morris discussed Alternative Dispute Resolution Methods.



President:  No Report

Vice President:  Barbara Taylor, CIT reported that she will be attending the Incoming Presidents meeting on September 23 and September 24 2006.

Secretary:  Secretary Lisa Huerta read the correspondence.  No action was required.

Treasurer:  No report


Construction Industry:  Barbara Taylor, CIT reported that the ground breaking ceremony for the skate park will be during the week of October 9, 2006.

Block Kids:  Barbara Taylor, CIT reported that Velia Balboa will be the Co-Chair for the event that will take place January 20, 2007.  They will be working with Brenda Garcia of Prescott Elementary.  25 Children have registered to participate.

CAD:  Barbara Taylor, CIT reported that the design will be Patio Homes.


TXDOT Project:  Lisa Huerta reported that TXDOT will get the sign put up and will re-schedule the next clean up after she finds out when they will mow the area next.

Asian Museum Project:  No report.

Publicity: Darlene Lee-Omana, CCA, CIT said the Casino night will be held October 21, 2006.

Ways and Means:  Darlene Lee Omana, CCA, CIT discussed having a Casino Night in partnership with the Loving Spoonful.

Recyclables:  Barbara Taylor reported that $19.25 was collected for the used toners.  Vickie Thompson, President suggested that we save the pull tabs for our purpose.

NEW BUSINESS:  Lisa Huerta, Secretary, handed out the nametags to those present.      


Barbara Taylor, CIT announced that Heidi Stephanshyne Piper is on the space shuttle.  Barbara Taylor assigned the Committees and announced that each chair will be required to report at the meetings.

The meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.



____________________________________                            __________________________________

Lisa Huerta, Acting Secretary                                                         Vickie Thompson, President


Members Present:

Vickie Thompson                                                                                                                                               

Barbara Taylor, CIT                                                          

Lisa Huerta                                                         

Darlene Lee Omana


Guests Present:

Meryl Musgrave

Maria Torres

Kim Keplar